The DASEP Specialists provide Pre-Sentence Screening reports to the courts in area 3. They make recommendations to the courts concerning the Alcohol Education/Treatment program that a person convicted of DWI/DUI and Minor in Possession of Alcohol should attend. We also provide classes, when Education is the recommendation. Referrals are made to treatment programs and other DASEP programs in Arkansas when the offender is from another part of the state.
Driving Under the Influence (Underage DUI)
It is unlawful for anyone under the age of 21 to drive with .02 alcohol in their system.
- Mandatory Public service
- License suspension
1st offense – 90 days suspension
2nd offense -365 days suspension
3rd offense -3 Years or until reach age 21
1st offense$100 – $500
2nd offense $200 – $1000
3rd offense $500 – $2000
- Education and/or treatment mandatory for each offense.
Driving While Intoxicated
In 1983 Arkansas legislature passed the “Omnibus DWI Law”, which made it unlawful for any one to drive with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .10 in their system. Since then, the BAC has been lowered to .08. Listed below are other penalties that are relevant. This stays on your record for 5 years, for enhancement purposes.
ACT 549 as amended
|Jail Time||Fine***||Alcohol Treatment
|First Offense||*24 hrs to 1 yr.||$150-$1000||Mandatory||180 days|
|*7 days to 1 yr.||$400-$3000||Mandatory||24 mos.|
|Third Offense||*90 days to 1 yr.||$900-$5000||Mandatory||30 mos.|
|Fourth Offense||*1 yr. to 6 yrs.||$900-$5000||Mandatory||4 yrs|